Topics

Food

Working Group

The Food Working Group is a diverse group of students, staff, faculty, and community members working toward more sustainable food purchasing decisions on Indiana University's campus.

Read more about the Food Working Group in the following sections.

History

Back to top

The IU Task Force on Sustainability (IUSTF) created the Food Working Group (FWG) in 2007 to address issues of sustainable food on the IUB campus and in the surrounding community. With the establishment of the IU Office of Sustainability in 2009, the IUSTF transitioned into the Campus Sustainability Advisory Board (CSAB). The FWG continues its research and programming as one of seven CSAB working groups. 

Vision, Mission and Organization

Back to top

Vision: We envision an environmentally sustainable and socially just food system that promotes food security, education, and local procurement within the Bloomington area.

Mission: Through collaboration among students, staff, faculty, and community members, the Food Working Group (FWG) strives to support an environmentally and financially sustainable food system focusing on quality, taste, and nutrition, as well as the social, ecological, and public health costs of food production and consumption.

Food Working Group Organization

Organization: The FWG is responsible for bringing together a diverse group of stakeholders on the IUB campus, uniting our often disconnected academic and operational missions in support of a healthy campus food system. As you can see, IU has an abundance of food actors, and the FWG plays a critical role in supporting communication and collaboration between them. 

Goals and Planning

Back to top

One of the Office of Sustainability's 2020 Vision Goals is to purchase 20% of food served in university-owned facilities from local growers/producers that embody sustainable practices in food production.

Strategic Planning

The Food Working Group is in the process of revising its goals and objectives through a strategic planning process. As you can see in the graphic to the left, our primary focus this semester is better understanding the current makeup of our purchases, and working with our diverse food community to better define what we mean by local and sustainable food.

As we move into the planning process, we will discuss current progress and future goals in two key areas: infrastructure and behavior change. As you can see below, infrastructure refers to the structure, systems and procedures we use to deliver food to the campus community--put simply, the food options provided on campus. Behavior change refers to programming and initiatives aimed at educating students about and increasing demand for local and sustainable food on campus. It's hard to change one without the other. We need student demand for sustainable food in order to rationalize providing more options, but we need to education students about the social, environmental and economic impacts of their food choices through our offerings in order to change behavior. So, we're trying to tackle both simultaneously. 

Infrastructure vs. Behavior

Recent Progress

Back to top

  • 2005
    • SPROUTS (Students Producing Organics Under the Sun) student organization was founded.
  • 2007
    • IU Sustainability Task Force and Food Working Group was created.
  • 2008
    • The Apple Works Farm began providing apples to RPS dining facilities.
    • Scholar’s Inn Bakehouse, a Bloomington-based bakery, begins providing all bagels sold on campus.
    • A food consumption study was conducted at Collins Residence Hall as a pilot program. Food source, food waste, carbon footprint, possible local produce providers were studied. Average distance food item travelled was 1111km or 609 miles.
  • 2009
    • Sustainability intern Nora Kayden worked with the IMU and Sodexo food services to compost pre-consumer food waste.
Leadership

Back to top

The Food Working Group is led by:  

  • Sandra Fowler, Staff Co-Chair, Director of Dining Services for Residential Programs and Services, (sfowler@indiana.edu)
  • Carl Ipsen, Faculty Co-Chair, Professor of History, (cipsen@indiana.edu)
Membership

Back to top

Name (last, first)
Title
Email

Babb, Angela

Student, IUOS intern

ababb@indiana.edu

Barbour, Christine

Faculty, Political Science

barbour@indiana.edu

Bonner, James Jose

Faculty, Biology

bonner@indiana.edu

Boyer, Paige

Student, School of Public Health

paboyer@umail.iu.edu

Buzzelli, Cary

Faculty, Education

cbuzzell@indiana.edu

Bushnell, Raija

Student – IUOS intern

rbushnel@umail.iu.edu

Drake, Ancil

Staff, RPS

addrake@indiana.edu

Fowler, Sandra

Staff, RPS (WG STAFF CO-CHAIR)

sfowler@indiana.edu

Gray, Chris

Staff, Sodexo

chrigray@indiana.edu

Grimes, Elin Christine

Staff, IU Health Center

ecgrimes@indiana.edu

Halloran, Vivian

Faculty, Comparative Lit and Am Studies

vhallora@indiana.edu

Ipsen, Carl

Faculty, History (WG FACULTY CO-CHAIR)

cipsen@indiana.edu

Irr, Stone

Student

sirr@indiana.edu

Johnston, Gillian

Staff, College of Arts & Sciences

gijohnst@indiana.edu

Kalasountas, Andrea

Student

akalasou@indiana.edu

Keith, Rebecca

Staff, IUAA

rekeith@iu.edu

Kilhefner, Erin

Student

erkilhef@indiana.edu

Knudsen, Daniel Curtis

Faculty, Geography

knudsen@indiana.edu

McDonell, Emma

Student, Anthropology

ekmcdone@umail.iu.edu

Michel, Ellen

Bloomingfoods

ellen@bloomingfoods.coop

Rex, Emilie

Staff,IUOS Assistant Director

ekrex@indiana.edu

Roy Chowdhury, Rinku

Faculty, Geography

rroychow@indiana.edu

Sideris, Lisa

Faculty, Religious Studies

lsideris@indiana.edu

Simmons, Michael

Bloomington Food Policy Council

simmonsm@zoho.com

Solomon, Stephanie

Mother Hubbard's Cupboard

stephanie@mhcfoodpantry.org

Swihart, Steve

Bloomington Independent Restaurant Assoc

director@bloomingtonindependents.com

Toledo, Alexandra

Student, SPEA

almabuck@indiana.edu

Wiley, Andrea S.

Faculty, Anthropology

wileya@indiana.edu

Wooten, Nikki

Student

ncwooten@indiana.edu

Zakem, Mimi

Student

mzakem@indiana.edu