Buildings & Energy

Working Group


Back to top

The IU Task Force on Sustainability (IUSTF) created the Energy and Built Environment Working Group in 2007 to address issues related to energy use and constructing, restoring and maintaining buildings on the IUB campus and in the surrounding community.  With the establishment of the IU Office of Sustainability in 2009, the IUSTF transitioned into the Campus Sustainability Advisory Board (CSAB).  The Energy and Built Environment Working Group continues its research and programming as one of seven CSAB working groups.  


Back to top

The Energy and Built Environment Working Group strives to raise awareness of IUB’s energy use among faculty, staff, and students and implement strategies through behavior modification and innovative building design and engineering principles to maximize the efficiency of on-campus production and distribution systems as well as reduce energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions.


Back to top

The Energy and Built Environment Working Group is led by co-chairs Sanya Carley, Assistant Professor at SPEA, and P.K. Patel, Senior Mechanical Engineer, Physical Plant.


Back to top

Sanya CarleyCo-Chair, Assistant Professor (SPEA)scarley
P.K. PatelCo-Chair, Staff (Physical Plant)ppatel
Michael BakerStaff (Physical Plant)mebaker
Ben BrabsonFaculty (Physics)brabson
Kristin BrethovaAssistant Director (IUOS)brethova
Dan DerheimerStaff (EH&S)dderheim
Kevin EllettStaff (Geological Survey)kmellett
Joan HagenStaff (Bryan Hall)jhagen
Mike JensonStaff (EH&S)mjenson
Jeff KadenEngineer (Physical Plant)jkaden
Mark MenefeeAssistant Director (Utilities)mmenefee
Brian MoellersUniversity Budget Officebkmoelle
Eric OstStaff (Astronomy)emo
Jonathan RacekFaculty (Smith Research Center)jonracek
Misty Theodore

 Staff (MSBII)

Terry Usrey

 Faculty (SPEA)

Lee WaltersDirectory (Utilities Information Group)lewalter
John WeberStaff (Physical Plant)wjweber