Internship Program in Sustainability


Current Symposium

On Friday, April 18 from 11:15 AM to 1:30 PM at the IMU Solarium we'll celebrate the work of our 2013-14 academic year sustainability interns at the Academic Year Sustainability Internship Symposium. The symposium will feature the research projects of IU Bloomington's 2013-14 academic year sustainability interns, including presentations, a poster session, and lunch featuring local food. There is no cost to attend.

As the pilot event for the launching of IUOS’s Green Events program, the symposium is set up for minimal environmental impact. In addition to serving a seasonal and locally sourced vegetarian lunch, IUOS has worked with IMU Catering to make the event landfill free, meaning all meal components will be reused or recycled; this is also true for all promotion and decoration materials.Composting and recycling bins will be available, with no packaging headed to the landfill.

Additionally, attendees are encouraged to walk, ride the bus, or bike to the IMU Solarium for the symposium. To find out which bus route works best for you, please visit IU Campus Bus or Bloomington Transit


Back to top

Registration is quick and easy, and there's no charge to attend the event. If you register and decide later you can no longer make it, please help us conserve food and resources by emailing us at at least 24 hours before the event. REGISTER HERE 


Back to top

11:15 AM – Doors Open

11:30 AM – Welcoming remarks, Lunch served - Bill Brown, Tom Morrison

11:45 AM – First Annual Charles Carroll Matson Mentorship Award

11:55 AM – Introduction of Student Sustainability Speakers - Emilie Rex

12:00 PM – Student Sustainability Speakers - Audrey Brinkers, Raija Bushnell, Andrew Carty

1:00 PM – Poster session, Dessert served 

Students Presenting a Poster

Back to top

Angela Babb
Sarah Baulac
Audrey Brinkers
Raija Bushnell
Andrew Carty
Liz Essman
Celia Daniels
Kayleen Glaser
Rachel Joseph
Nadia Lovko
Heather Oslund
Amanda Redfern
Mary Roper
Chris Round
Dana Schroeder
Kelsey Smith
Jessica Stavole
Henri Venable