Our People

Staff Members

Back to top

  • Director, Bill Brown
    • Bill Brown, Director of Sustainability for Indiana University, is responsible for catalyzing sustainability initiatives in academic programs and campus operations at the Indiana University Bloomington campus. He also teaches Sustainable Communities in the IU School of Public & Environmental Affairs Masters of Public Administration program.
    • Bill served as a member of the Greening of the White House national task group in 1993 and was awarded an American Institute of Architects (AIA) Presidential Citation in 1993 and again in 2008. He also received a US Green Building Council national award for organizational excellence for his service on the AIA Committee on the Environment.
    • Bill served as Chair of the US Green Building Council’s Indiana Chapter, Secretary of the Board of the American Institute of Architects Indiana Chapter, and Co-chair of the Indianapolis-Marion County Green Commission. Bill was elected to the board of directors of the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education in 2012 and he also serves as a National Chair for USGBC Students, a new initiative to engage higher education students in greening their campuses and communities.
    • Bill is a Life Alumnus of Indiana University, Class of 1976, and he received an Award of Outstanding Achievement from the Ball State University College of Architecture and Planning Alumni Board, where he graduated in 1993. 

      Contact: brownwm@indiana.edu
      Phone: 812-855-1822

  • Assistant Director, Emilie Rex
    • Emilie Rex is the Assistant Director of Sustainability for Indiana University and has served with Office of Sustainability since its inception in 2009. Over the last five years, she has worked closely with campus stakeholders to develop new academic, co-curricular and operational programs aimed at making the campus a more ecologically sound, economically viable and socially just place to live, learn and work. Emilie earned a B.A. in English Language and Literature from the University of Michigan. She then joined Teach For America and served for two years as an 8th grade English Language Arts teacher in Edcouch-Elsa, TX. After teaching for a third year in Monterrey, Mexico, Emilie then returned to her hometown of Bloomington to pursue a Master's of Public Affairs at IU's School of Public and Environmental Affairs. She graduated in May 2009 with a degree in policy analysis with a focus on sustainable development.

      Contact: ekrex@indiana.edu
      Phone: 812-855-2678

  • Project Coordinator, Katie Glaser
    • Katie Glaser graduated from Indiana University's School of Public and Environmental Affairs in 2012 with a B.S. in Arts Management. After working for various arts organizations, she joins IUOS in the role of project coordinator. In addition to administrative and management  responsibilities, Katie will work towards expanding the office's online reach to foster a greater sense of community among students and staff, campus organizations, and the city of Bloomington. 

      Contact: keglaser@indiana.edu

Cox Scholars

Back to top

  • Fund Development & Budget Management, Linda Graff
    • Linda is a sophomore at Indiana University Kelley School of Business. She is a Cox Exploratory Scholar and an intended Accounting and Finance major, working towards admittance into the 3/2 program at Kelley. She started at the Indiana University Office of Sustainability in August 2012 as the Communications Intern. While here, Linda has furthered her knowledge of social networking and online presence, as well as learned more about Adobe Illustrator and related programs. She assists the Project Coordinator with the numerous community relation tasks that are involved with the office. This year, Linda will be transitioning into the role of fund development coordinator. She will work alongside intern Sarah Brindle in determining and applying for grants and other funds for our office.
  • Communications Specialist, Anna Will
    • Anna is a freshmen at Indiana University and hopes to enter the College of Arts and Sciences. she is a Cox Exploratory Scholar and intends to major in biology with a focus on genetics. Anna wants to make a positive impact on children through genetic research or as a high school Biology teacher. Anna is originally from Poseyville, Indiana and lives on a dairy farm. She loves to read, watch and play sports and show dairy cattle with her family. This is her first year working in the Office of Sustainability. While at IUOS, Anna will develop skills in social media, communications, marketing,and specific sustainability-related projects.
  • Engagement, Celia Daniels
    • Celia Daniels is a first year student in the College of Arts and Sciences, intending to major in Psychology and obtain a Certificate in Neuroscience before potentially continuing on into grad school. This is her first internship as well as first introduction to formal sustainability, outside of home-based conservative efforts. She has previously worked in the food industry and is interested in the studies of human behavior on a psychological and chemical level. While at IUOS, Celia will be working with intern Sarah Baulac on academic initiatives.
Service Corps Fellows

Back to top

  • Environmental Quality & Land Use, Raija Bushnell
    • Placed at the Office of Sustainability through the School of Public and Environmental Affairs’ Service Corps program, Raija is coordinating the Environmental Quality and Land Use Working Group’s activities and helping to create an implementation plan for current/future projects and related programing. Raija graduated from DePauw University in 2009 with a BA in Political Science. After two years as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Peru, Raija  left her mountainside and began the MPA/MSES program at IU’s School of Public and Environmental Affairs.  She is concentrating on environmental policy and natural resource management.
  • Sustainability Peer Educator Program, Dana Schroeder
    • Dana Schroeder is a Service Corps Fellow and a first year MPA candidate in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs concentrating in Sustainability. After spending four years at the University of Georgia earning a Bachelor’s degree in Environmental Economics and Management, she worked for a year as Education Manager at an eco-friendly backcountry lodge in the mountains of North Georgia. Dana is looking forward to spending her next two years serving the IU and Bloomington communities by helping to develop, coordinate, and evaluate the Sustainability Peer Educator Program. Her long term goals include strengthening and expanding the population of environmentally minded individuals on the local scale and making strong ties to the positive economic impact of many environmentally sound actions worldwide.

Back to top

For full biographies, please visit Meet the Interns