Education & Research

Working Group


Back to top

The IU Task Force on Sustainability (IUSTF) created the Academic Initiatives Working Group in 2007 to address the need for academic and co-curricular programming on the IUB campus and in the surrounding community.  With the establishment of the IU Office of Sustainability in 2009, the IUSTF transitioned into the Campus Sustainability Advisory Board (CSAB). In 2013, the Academic Initiatives Working Group was renamed the Education and Research Working Group (ERWG).  The Education and Research Working Group continues its research and programming as one of seven CSAB working groups.


Back to top

To build an integrated program of academic research, undergraduate and graduate education, co-curricular and service-learning opportunities, and community outreach that will move Indiana University Bloomington into a position of national leadership in sustainability studies.


Back to top

The central goal of the ERWG is to move IU towards its goals of leadership in the new academic area of sustainability including the promotion of an integrated program of exceptional undergraduate and graduate education, research and creative activity, and community outreach that builds on the academic strengths of IU’s academic resources. Such academic sustainability initiatives should include the interrelated aspects of ecology, economic and social equity, public health and wellness, globalization and international relations, urbanization and poverty, and the politics and economics of food. They must also involve the integration of the academic, co-curricular, and operational elements of campus life.

Specifically, short-term goals include:

  • Promote grants and fellowships rewarding progressive research
  • Promote sustainability courses and research (through grants and fellowships)
  • Coordinate with student sustainability organizations on tasks and goals

Long-term goals include:

  • Organize and promote Service-Learning Courses related to sustainability
  • Establish a faculty learning community
  • Provide internationally-recognized degree programs in environmental and sustainability studies at undergraduate, graduate and doctoral levels
Recent Initiatives

Back to top

1.  Founding core group and timeline for the faculty learning community
2.  Integrating current grants and fellowships with the IUOS administration
3.  Initiating constructive discussions with sustainability-related student organizations


Back to top

Andrew Libby*alibby@indiana.eduBiologyAssistant Director of Human Biology
Jennifer Meta Robison*jenmetar@indiana.eduCommunication and CultureProfessor
Scott Breensbreen@indiana.eduSPEA, Maurer School of LawGraduate Student
Michael Calway-Fagenmcalwayf@indiana.eduFine ArtsFaculty
Earon Daviseardavis@indiana.eduKinesiologyFaculty
Tom Evansevans@indiana.eduGeographyAssociate Professor
James Farmerjafarmer@indiana.eduHPERPh.D. Dept. of Rec, Park, Tourism Studies
Nancy Gambrellnneedy@indiana.eduRegistrarAssistant Registrar and Manager of Academic Scheduling
Ross Gayrgay@indiana.eduEnglishProfessor
Michael Hambugerhamburg@indiana.eduGeologyProfessor, Faculty Head
Noriko Haranhara@indiana.eduLibrary & Info Science (SLIS)Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Brad Lufkinbclufkin@indiana.eduIUOSEducation & Research Intern
Joan Middendorfmiddendo@indiana.eduCITLCo-Director of Faculty Learning Community
Phaedra Pezzullopezzullo@indiana.eduCommunication and CultureAssociate Professor
Heather Reynoldshlreynol@indiana.eduBiologyAssociate Professor
Carlin Schragcschrag@indiana.eduGeologyUndergraduate Advisor
Dana Schroederdanacs90@indiana.eduIUOSStudent Sustainability Peer Educator Intern
Lisa Siderislsideris@indiana.eduReligious StudiesProfessor
Catherine Tuckertuckerc@indiana.eduAnthropologyAssociate Professor
Michael Valliantmvallian@indiana.eduService Learning ProgramSenior IC/Community Engagement Coordinator
Jeff Whitewhitej@indiana.eduSPEA, IPEProfessor, IPE Director
*Denotes Co-Chairs